Monday 21st February 2011- PRINT

I was looking forward to start the print workshop because I had so much fun last term. Today we started screen printing, I tried this briefly last term and loved the technique but this term we’d be taking it further by not just painting images onto a screen but putting an image onto the screen to create a collection of bold prints. I really enjoyed todays workshop, although there was a lot of waiting around for screens to dry, I ended up with a lovely collection of prints. The design on my print was based on one of my drawings (the decorative ball, simplified and bold) repeated and reversed. I printed in black ink first not only to keep things basic but I believe black as a colour stands out best and grabs attention. I printed onto a variety of papers and fabrics to see which works better than others. I also printed in yellow because I found this colour relevant to the image I was printing. I’d like to take this screen-printing further by using another image to add to my collection of samples.

Leave a Reply

