Archive for November 4th, 2010

November 4, 2010

Stitch workshop

I’m really enjoying the stich workshop. It’s a mix of things that I’ve done before and new techniques which is keeping me really interested. My favourite new technique I’ve learnt is sewing with interesting threads and wools, I also really liked creating pile fabrics. Below are some photographs of some of the samples I’ve been creating for my technical file.

November 4, 2010

Drawing

Drawing is a very important part of my course and although it isnt my strongest subject area I’m constantly improving. I used to work basic (pencil to paper) but now I’m drawing with everything and I love trying new techniques like drawing with the wrong hand and continuous line drawing. I’ve become a fan of using a variety of papers and masking tape is my new best friend.

November 4, 2010

Mixed Media workshop

My first workshop was mixed media. I was looking forward to this because I was excited to work with new material and try something different.  I’ve worked with wire previously so I was aware of what I could do with it and show off what I could already do ontop of learning even more skills. Before this workshop I hadnt heard of spot-welding, little did I know but I was about to end up being a spot-welding pro! I created a variety of samples not only spot-welding but manipulation skills like bending, twisting and flattening. I also experimented with mixing metals with fabrics. The result from this workshop was to create a box and on each side show various techniques. This task gave me chance to be as creative, unique and make my box as innovative as possible. Below are pictures of my final box and certain details which I’m most happy with.